Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Author(s): Pitchaya Sudbanthad

Fiction

Places remember us. . .


A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok.
A musician plays a private show for ghosts.
A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street.
A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face.
A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer.


Lurching through decades, from Bangkok's rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads.


For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781473677272
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • : February 2019
  • : 2.7 Centimeters X 15.3 Centimeters X 23.4 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Pitchaya Sudbanthad
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 813.6
  • : 368